Skip to main


As part of Mason's Safe Return to Campus Plan, all classes and associated instructional activities—including final exams—will be conducted virtually beginning November 30, while most campus facilities will remain open. Visit Mason’s Safe Return to Campus Plan for COVID-19 updates.


Environmental Science and Policy 2018 Award Winners


Outstanding Student in Ecological Science
Kate Ritzel

Outstanding Student in Environmental Health
Melissa E. Wilson

Outstanding Student in Marine, Estuarine & Freshwater Ecology
Daniel L. Buczek

Outstanding Student in Human and Ecosystem Response to Climate Change Concentration
Symone Moore

Outstanding Student in Conservation
Breanne R. Clippinger

Chair’s Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student
Kayla Hartso


Exceptional Environmental Science & Policy Graduate Student Teacher
Jessie Melton

Honorable Mention
Nicholas Walker
Zachary Combs
Rupal Mangukiya

Best Doctoral Dissertation
Adele Roland

Honorable Mention
Adrian Dahood-Fritz
Laurie Allen

Greatest Impact
Adrian Dahood-Fritz

Honorable Mention
Elizabeth Nohelty Romano

Best Master’s Thesis
Danielle Brown

Honorable Mention
Zachary Combs

Retirement Celebration

Dr. Alan Christensen (29 years) – Biology
Dr. Albert Torzilli (40 years) – Environmental Science & Policy
Dr. Robert Jonas (35 years) – Environmental Science & Policy
Sharon Bloomquist (18 years) – Environmental Science & Policy