Skip to main


As part of Mason's Safe Return to Campus Plan, all classes and associated instructional activities—including final exams—will be conducted virtually beginning November 30, while most campus facilities will remain open. Visit Mason’s Safe Return to Campus Plan for COVID-19 updates.


Environmental Science and Policy 2019 Award Winners

Congratulations to all our ESP award winners for 2018-19!

Outstanding Undergraduate in Conservation
Jesse Wong

Outstanding Undergraduate in Ecological Science
Charity Walter

Outstanding Undergraduate in Environmental Health
Ashley Bourg

Outstanding Undergraduate in Human and Ecosystem Response to Climate Change
Heather Nortz

Outstanding Undergraduate in Marine, Estuarine, and Freshwater Ecology
Erika Minock

Best Graduate Student Teacher
Chelsea Gray

Honorable Mention
Nick Walker

Best Doctoral Dissertation
Carlos Peredo

Honorable Mention
Kim Marshall McLean

Greatest Impact on the Study of Environmental Science and Policy
Kim Marshall McLean

Best Faculty Advisor
Elizabeth Freeman

*2019 Dr. Averett Tombes Award
Adam Carpenter

*The Dr. Averett Tombes Award will be given to an Environmental Science and Public Policy Ph.D. student who best exemplifies the original goals of the Ph.D. program, which were to train individuals in environmental science and public policy such that they could help positively influence government actions in the environment. This award honors Dr. Tombes who, as Chair of the Department of Biology, originally proposed the idea for this degree, which was the first science Ph.D. at George Mason University.