Skip to main

IPN Faculty selected for Presidential Faculty Excellence Awards

Congratulations to IPN Faculty Associate Professor Gwendolyn Lewis and Professor Giorgio Ascoli for their Presidential Awards in Faculty Excellence honors! Sponsored by the Office of the President, the Presidential Awards for Faculty Excellence were created to recognize, promote, and honor outstanding members of our community for excellence in teaching, research, social impact, and diversity & inclusion.

Dr. Lewis was selected for the Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence in Teaching. In her six years at Mason IPN, Dr. Lewis has helped rebuild the neuroscience undergrad program through her teaching and mentoring, curriculum development and assessment, advising program development, and program outreach/advocacy. Her high-quality teaching is evidenced by her consistently hight student evaluation scores. She consistently earns Mason Core Award accolades for NEUR 101 Introduction to Neuroscience and NEUR 411 Seminar in Neuroscience. 


Dr. Ascoli, Professor of Bioengineering and Neuroscience, was selected for the Beck Family Presidential Medal for Faculty Excellence in Research. The medal is presented to faculty member whose contributions represent groundbreaking advances in their field. Earlier this month, one of Dr. Ascoli's projects,, received the FASEB DataWorks! Prize Distinguished Achievement Award.