Skip to main
Math equations

Math faculty members receive prestigious recognition for their work in research and teaching

Harbir Antil pic

Congratulations to Harbir Antil, Professor, Mathematical Sciences, Director, Center for Mathematics and Artificial Intelligence (CMAI), for being selected by the National Academies to serve as a member of the the Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group (ISTEG). The Intelligence Science and Technology Experts Group (ISTEG) is a large, diverse group of experts across the broad range of science, technology, and medicine, each of whom are available to provide occasional quick response technical advice to ODNI and the other federal government agencies that comprise the Intelligence Community (IC). This selection reflects high level of achievement by Prof. Antil and is a recognition of his status as a top expert in the field. 

Photo of Joanna Jauchen

Congratulations to Joanna Jauchen, Instructor, Mathematical Sciences, for receiving the prestigious 2022 Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence in Teaching. This award is presented to a faculty member whose teaching inspires and stimulates students in the finest tradition of higher education. Evaluation criteria include growth and development as an educator, student and learner engagement, assessment of student learning and teaching effectiveness and evidence of transformative impact. Joanna’s leadership and dedication to teaching and learning has impacted thousands of students as well as all faculty in Math department and in many other units. She has been a tireless advocate for active learning and the principles of diversity, equity and inclusion both as an educator and in her role as Associate Chair for Teaching and Equity. Well deserved!