Skip to main

2024 Outstanding Achievement Awards

The Outstanding Achievement Awards celebrate the hard work, dedication, and achievements of Mason’s faculty and staff across several awards categories in support of the university's values and mission. In addition to the HR awards, there are awards sponsored by other departments: Environmental Health and Safety OfficeStaff SenateSustainability,  University Life, and the Office of Undergraduate Education. Congratulations to the two Mason Science faculty members who earned an Outstanding Achievement award. 

Sustainability Hero Award 

Dr. Karen Akerlof
Karen Akerlof

Assistant Professor, Environmental Science and Policy

The Sustainability Hero Award acknowledges the contributions of individuals and teams who have gone the extra mile to seek creative solutions that have promoted healthy, sustainable living or reduced Mason’s environmental impacts. These are people who understand the significance of promoting a sustainable way of life for not only our staff and faculty, but our students as well, who are the next generation of stewards.

Patriot Pathbreakers Award

Kerin Hilker Balkissoon
Kerin Hilker-Balkissoon, as part of the FamilyU Cohort

Director of Educational and Career Pathways, Dean's Administration

The Patriot Pathbreakers Award, established by HR & Payroll and the Staff Senate, seeks to honor two high performing teams who embody the Mason value of thriving together. High performing teams are active pathbreakers, using the individual talents of team members to overcome obstacles and make progress toward the team’s, unit’s, or Mason’s goals. These teams are innovative, adapting their services/processes when necessary to meet the changing needs of the Mason community. The sum of their efforts is a result of communication, teamwork, and team spirit and commitment.