Skip to main
Testing DNA

2024 Teaching Excellence Award Winners

The Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning has named the 2024 Teaching Excellence Award Winners, including four College of Science faculty members. 

Outstanding teaching is an integral part of Mason’s mission and is deserving of significant recognition. The Teaching Excellence Awards are both institutional recognition and a monetary acknowledgment of the significant work that faculty members devote to course planning and preparation; support of student engagement and learning; curriculum development; and innovative teaching, advising, and undergraduate and graduate mentoring. 


Hao Jing

Hao Jing

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Featured teaching strategy: Engagement through a Relaxed Environment



Dr. Rebecca M. Jones

Rebecca Jones

Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Special Recognition in Teaching Mason Core

Featured teaching strategy: Developing Scientific Communication with Chemistry Infographics


Jim McNeil

Jim McNeil

Associate Professor, Smithsonian-Mason School of Conservation

Special Recognition in Teaching with High Impact Practices

Featured teaching strategy: Ticks and Lyme Disease


Dr. Rule

Kimberly Rule

Assistant Professor, Forensic Science Program

Featured teaching strategy: Engaging Students Through Hands-on Active Learning